When All Else Fails

If you are like me then you have seen just about every infomercial out there. When my husband and I saw this one for the Twin Door Drafts a year ago,  I thought that sounded like a pretty good idea. Bryan also agreed but we came to the conclusion that I can make some for half the cost with all the extra fabric I have lying around. Of course that winter came and went and nothing was done.

While we were at Wal-Mart the other day we saw the Twin Door Draft guards again but was a little put off by the price. Sitting next to them were some tubing that you put around pipes to keep them warm in the winter that were only 3 dollars. My husband and I then decided that now would be the best time to make them because our basement is horribly insulated. Upon bringing the tubing home and getting very excited for what we thought was pretty smart of us, I realized that I didn’t know where my sewing machine cables were and so I wouldn’t be able to go ahead with said plan. Bryan was pretty ticked off and stormed away like usual.

The next day I had to go to a job and Bryan had the day off. When I came home it appeared as though Bryan had gotten a lot accomplished around the house, one of which was his own homemade Twin Door Draft Guards! Upon further inspection I realized that these were pretty ghetto but very smart. He had gotten a piece of sheer fabric and wrapped it around the tubes and put zip ties through the fabric to hold it all in place instead of sewing it.

I went upstairs to comment on his handy work and tell him thanks.

“I saw what you did with the door downstairs, I think that is pretty ingenious”, I said

“Yeah, well I had to get it done, you weren’t going to do it”, he replied with full-on cockiness in his voice.

“How did you think of doing it that way?”

“Well when all else fails you must MANprovise”

Leave a Reply

